Writers Guild of Canada Announces Screenwriting Awards 2019 Winners

Writers Guild of Canada
Writers Guild of Canada

The Writers Guild of Canada held their 23rd annual WGC Screenwriting Awards gala on Monday night in front of a full house at the TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning’s Koerner Hall in Toronto. Winners of the night’s top prizes included Sarah Dodd (Cardinal: Blackfly Season), Daegan Fryklind (The Bletchley Circle: San Francisco), Rupinder Gill (Schitt’s Creek) and Michael McNamara (Catwalk: Tales from the Cat Show Circuit).

Special awards were also presented by the WGC, including the WGC Showrunner Award, which went to Wynonna Earp‘s Emily Andras. Presenter and Wynonna Earp writer Noelle Carbone said that “her story room feels like family because she hires good writers who are good people and she empowers and nurtures them, and that fosters an incredible team dynamic.” The win comes during a time where Wynonna Earp is currently fighting to get back into production after IDW Entertainment, who functions as the studio behind the series, has been unable to find the funding to put the show back in production.

Carbone went on to praise Andras for her connection with the Wynonna Earp fandom, citing how much the fans mean to Andras. It’s that connection that has helped keep the show alive during uncertain times and led to the #FightForWynonna. Carbone explained that “these ‘Wynonna Earp people’ have kept the show alive against all odds. They fight every day for this show, in part because under Emily’s leadership the fandom has become a safe haven for LGBTQ fans. At a time when queer female TV characters were being killed off en masse, Emily put a queer relationship front and center on her show and told that couple’s story with compassion and optimism.” Furthermore, Carbone said that “Emily goes out of her way every single day to ensure that our most marginalized and vulnerable fans feel seen and heard and yes, even loved. Because she isn’t just running a TV show, she’s spearheading a movement.”

Andras called working on Wynonna Earp “a dream come true” in her acceptance speech. She also acknowledged how special it is that she gets to make the show in Canada. “I truly feel that I could not make this show anywhere else in the world but Canada and for that I am just thrilled. I’m so happy that Canadian genre is on the map and being celebrated worldwide.” She also encouraged others in the audience to keep making content there. “I would encourage you, now more than ever, to keep trying to get your shows made in Canada.” After all, “if Wynonna Earp, where a girl gets possessed by tentacle goo and then gets really aggressive with her girlfriend and gets nominated for a People’s Choice Award, you too can succeed.”

Other special awards included the McGrath Service Award to Bruce Smith, the Sondra Kelly Award to Jinder Oujla-Chalmers, and Pat Holden and Amir Kahnamouee each receiving the Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize.

Writers Guild of Canada
Writers Guild of Canada

The WGC Screenwriting Awards were hosted by Gavin Crawford and written by Kyle Tingley, with awards presented by Noelle Carbone, Jennica Harper, Carol Hay, Jordan Johnson-Hinds, Elena Juatco, Adam Pettle, Kathleen Phillips, Sugith Varughese and Jennifer Whalen.


The full list of winners include:

Best New Series Script

The Bletchley Circle: San Francisco, “Presidio”, written by Daegan Fryklind


Wishfart, “I Wear This Hat Ironically”, written by Josh Sager and Jerome Simpson

Comedy Series

Schitt’s Creek, “RIP Moira Rose,” written by Rupinder Gill

Drama Series

Cardinal: Blackfly Season, “Red,” written by Sarah Dodd


Catwalk: Tales from the Cat Show Circuit, written by Michael McNamara

Feature Film

22 Chaser written by Jeremy Boxen

MOW & Miniseries

Odd Squad: World Turned Odd, written by Tim McKeon

Shorts & Webseries

We’ve Come to the End of Our Time, written by Alex Epstein and Lisa Hunter

Tweens & Teens

Star Falls, “The Picnic Auction,” written by Cole Bastedo


Thoughts on the WGC award winners? Sound off below.